Events

The Supreme Court Trademark-Bankruptcy Ruling’s Impact on Franchisors
July 11, 2019 | Webinar

Click here to view recorded webcast

Click here for presentation materials

Recently, the U.S. Supreme Court resolved a Circuit Court split over an important issue at the intersection of trademark and bankruptcy law. The decision has important strategic and practical implications for franchisors and other trademark licensors. Those implications will be presented by Gray Plant Mooty attorneys Phillip Bohl, Sheldon Klein, and James Wahl during a one-hour webinar on July 11, 2019.

The panel discussion topics will include:

  •  Analysis of the Supreme Court’s decision, in Mission Product Holdings, Inc. v. Tempnology, LLC, that rejecting a trademark license under bankruptcy law is a breach of the license but not a rescission.
  •  Implications of the decision for franchisors in bankruptcy reorganization proceedings, and the type of rights and remedies available to trademark licensors and licensees under bankruptcy,  trademark, and contract law.
  •  Whether franchise agreements or trademark licenses should be revised to better address the possibility that a party might file bankruptcy.

Time:
10:00 – 11:00 a.m. (PDT)
11:00 – 12:00 p.m. (MDT)
12:00 – 1:00 p.m. (CDT)
1:00 – 2:00 p.m. (EDT)

Location:
Live Webcast